Design begins when we make the imperative known.......

_design and the un-said

Functional programming in the world of architects and landscape architects is usually a pretty dry affair. Detailed requirements are established and listed. Groupings are confirmed. And key spatial relationships (adjacencies and separations) are outlined. Actual design often grows directly out of operational diagrams, with varying degrees of architectural gesture as little more than appliqué or pastiche over the "bones" of these operational diagram.

Effective building certainly requires that we complete thorough analysis of needs and functional relationships, and we spend a lot of our time working within exactly this framework of analysis, confirmation, and functional diagramming in order to assure that our buildings work well.

However, there is another side to every building and public space project.

There are underlying priorities, wishes, values and necessities which are often not articulated - and which can provide clarity and focus to a project. It is these "un-said" - but obvious once said - priorities that can become the guiding light for design and project structure. And we work very hard to listen for and to hear them.

Once these un-said, not-yet-clear, priorities begin to see the light of day, they become the real core of our design process...........allowing this now-articulated core to drive physical order and celebratory gesture.

Le design repose sur la reconnaissance des impératifs.......

_le design : les non-dits

Dans le monde des architectes et des architectes paysagers, l'établissement d'un programme fonctionnel est normalement assez aride. On dresse la liste des exigences détaillées. On crée des groupements. On établit les principales relations spatiales (contiguïtés et séparations). Bien souvent, le véritable design est le produit direct de diagrammes opérationnels, lesquels sont ornés de certains petits éléments architecturaux, tels des appliques ou des pastiches, qui en cachent « l'ossature ».

Pour obtenir un bâtiment opérationnel, nous devons mener une analyse exhaustive des besoins et des relations fonctionnelles. Afin d'assurer le résultat positif de nos réalisations, nous consacrons la majorité de notre temps au respect de ce cadre d'analyse, de confirmation et de diagrammes fonctionnels.

Toutefois, la conception de bâtiment ou d'espace public comprend une autre facette.

Chaque projet présente des caractéristiques, des attentes, des valeurs et des exigences qui ne sont pas toujours explicites et qui peuvent jeter de la lumière sur son point focal. Ces non-dits, évidents lorsqu'ils sont enfin exprimés, peuvent devenir le phare du design et de la structure du projet. Pour nous, il est primordial de les dénicher et d'y porter attention.

Quand ces priorités implicites et imprécises se dévoilent, elles deviennent le cœur même du processus de design. Ainsi, ce noyau enfin articulé mène à l'ordre physique et à la gestuelle gagnante.