The Anarchy of day-to-day exchange, compromise and resolution is the ground on which cities.......... and architecture........... flourish

_the seeds of productive exchange

Anarchy and chaos are often spoken of as if they were the same thing. And the Anarchist project has been diminished in popular perception to become nothing more than the loss of order and descent into dangerous, chaotic war in the streets.

However, Anarchism is a much more rich tradition, and intellectual project, than is often thought. And there is much in Anarchism that can be a useful perceptual lens for us as Architects, Urban Designers and Planners.

At the risk of over-simplification: The Anarchist Project makes two over-riding propositions: The first, and best known, is that the world would be better without government of any kind. And the second is that mankind would get along just fine by working things out on an ongoing basis of exchange, conflict and resolution - with no necessary recourse

to, or dependence on, higher powers and organizational structures.

Government - as the provider of laws, policing protection, military protection, infrastructure services, and social services - has proven to be pretty valuable to mankind. Larger groups who have lived without effective government and legal frameworks have faced overwhelming complexity and dangers. And the life-without-government agenda of classic Anarchism is probably more fraught with risk of chaos and dominance/subjugation and exhaustion than it is fraught with social benefit.

On the other hand, the other main tenet of Anarchism - that a lot can be done with good old-fashioned exchange, dialogue, conflict, consensus and resolution - is a pretty valuable “take” on the world.

In fact, nearly 100% of our daily relationships - whether they are personal, social or economic - hinge more on the anarchic dialogue of everyday life than on the legal framework of government. Within a background of governmental presence and stability, we live surprisingly anarchic lives - lives formed and enriched by a constant dance of circumstance, encounter, dialogue and resolution.

Within this evolutionary and dynamic environment all kinds of results result - highly structured, soft and fuzzy, rationally sophisticated, clumsy.........all.

It is within this context that we set out to celebrate the anarchy: to celebrate and build upon - rather than deny and overcome - the dynamic exchange of all of the points-of-view, values and priorities within which any project comes to life.

L'anarchie propre aux échanges quotidiens, aux compromis et aux solutions est la fondation même des villes et de l'architecture.

_les germes d'un échange productif

Pour bien des gens, les termes anarchie et chaos sont synonymes. Selon la perception populaire, le projet de l'anarchiste entraîne rien que moins que la perte de l'ordre, une descente dans la rue et un affrontement dangereux etchaotique.

Toutefois, l'anarchisme est étroitement lié à une tradition beaucoup plus riche, à l'intellectualité et, souvent, à la pensée. De nombreux aspects de l'anarchisme peuvent influer positivement sur la vision des architectes, des architectes paysagers et des urbanistes.

Au risque de simplifier le concept de façon excessive, l'anarchiste formule deux propositions principales : la première, mieux connue, est que le monde serait meilleur sans gouvernement d'aucune sorte; la deuxième est que l'humanité se porterait mieux si elle réglait elle-même les questions liées aux échanges, aux conflits

et aux solutions, et ce, sans recours ou dépendance aux puissances supérieures ou aux structures organisationnelles.

Toutefois, le gouvernement, responsable des lois, de la protection policière et militaire, des services d'infrastructure et des services sociaux, s'est montré assez précieux pour l'humanité. D'importants groupes ayant vécu sans gouvernement fonctionnel ou sans cadre législatif ont dû affronter de nombreux problèmes et dangers. De plus, la vie sans gouvernement prôné par l'anarchiste radical risque probablement d'entraîner le chaos, un rapport de dominance-subjugation et un épuisement plutôt que de réels avantages sociétaux.

En revanche, l'autre principe fondamental de l'anarchisme – l'épanouissement de la société au moyen du modèle classique d'échange, de dialogue, de conflit, de consensus et de résolution de problèmes – est une vision intéressante du monde.

En effet, presque toutes nos relations quotidiennes, qu'elles soient personnelles, sociales ou économiques, reposent davantage sur le modèle anarchique de tous les jours que sur le cadre législatif du gouvernement. Dans un contexte de présence et de stabilité gouvernementales, nous menons, à notre grande surprise, des vies anarchiques, soit des vies formées et enrichies par une multitude de circonstances, de rencontres, d'échanges et de solutions.

Au sein de cet environnement évolutionnaire et dynamique, toutes sortes de résultats abondent, des plus structurés aux plus flous, des plus rationnels et sophistiqués aux plus insolites.

C'est dans un tel contexte que l'on célèbre l'anarchie : plutôt que de taire ou nier cette réalité, faisons l'éloge et tirons profit de cet échange dynamique de tous les points de vue, toutes les valeurs et toutes les priorités qui donnent fruit aux projets de la vie.